Rabu, 24 Juni 2015

Brandon Mull (born November 8, 1974) is an American writer who is best known as the author of the Fablehaven fantasy series, which is a New York Times bestseller. Mull has also written The Candy Shop War and the Beyonders Trilogy, as well as numerous other popular young adult novels. Because many young readers are interested in his books, Brandon crosses the country talking to students, with the message that "imagination can take you places." In an interview, Brandon Mull said

"I've been trying to pull off a writing career, dreaming of it since high school and trying sincerely since college, which has been quite a few years already, so."

The greatest inspiration for his stories are J. R. R. Tolkien, C. S. Lewis, and J. K. Rowling.

Education and early work

Spirit Animals Forum

Brandon Mull went to Mt. Diablo Elementary School in Clayton, California. Mull then attended Pine Hollow Middle School as a student, and then attended Clayton Valley. He currently lives in Alpine, Utah and graduated from BYU (Brigham Young University) in Utah. While at BYU Mull lead the sketch comedy group Divine Comedy (BYU). Mull served a two-year mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Chile. Brandon Mull has worked as a comedian, a filing clerk, a patio installer, a movie promoter, a copywriter, and briefly as a chicken stacker.


Spirit Animals...wish list: Blood Ties | Awesome books | Pinterest

Brandon Mull is also spearheading a seven-book series called "Spirit Animals." Each book will be written by a different author, but he was given the charge to create the fantasy world where the characters will live, and all the books will be based. The first installment, written by Brandon, is called "Wild Born" and was released in September 2013.

Another series Brandon Mull has authored is called "Five Kingdoms." The first book is subtitled Sky Raiders and was released March 11, 2014. The second installment will arrive the following October 2014. Of this series, Brandon Mull says, "It'll be for the kind of readers who liked Fablehaven. A Halloween spook alley turns out to be a front for slave traders taking kids into another world. It'll be cool, promise."

On Mull's Facebook page he mentioned that he is planning a second Fablehaven series, but wouldn't get serious about it until some of his other projects are finished, like Spirit Animals, possibly not until 2015. Brandon announced at the launching of "Spirit Animals" that there is a very good plan for the Fablehaven sequel series to be published in 2016.

Fablehaven is currently optioned by Schaffer Studios. The movie is in the beginning/planning phase as described in a radio interview Brandon Mull did with Clark Schaffer in June 2013.

Published works

For Kids Who Love the Spirit Animals: Get to Know Brandon Mull


(ages 8â€"13)

  • Fablehaven, Shadow Mountain, 14 June 2006, ISBN 978-1-59038-581-4
  • Fablehaven: Rise of the Evening Star, Shadow Mountain, 1 May 2007, ISBN 978-1-59038-742-9
  • Fablehaven: Grip of the Shadow Plague, Shadow Mountain, 12 April 2008, ISBN 978-1-59038-898-3
  • Fablehaven: Secrets of the Dragon Sanctuary, Shadow Mountain, 24 March 2009, ISBN 978-1-60641-042-4
  • Fablehaven: Keys to the Demon Prison, Shadow Mountain, 23 March 2010, ISBN 978-1-60641-238-1


(ages 8â€"13)

  • Beyonders: A World Without Heroes, Aladdin, 15 March 2011, ISBN 978-1-41699-792-4
  • Beyonders: Seeds of Rebellion, Aladdin, 13 March 2012, ISBN 978-1-41699-794-8
  • Beyonders: Chasing the Prophecy, Aladdin, 12 March 2013, ISBN 978-1-41699-796-2


(ages 8â€"14)

  • Sequel series to Fablehaven that will spread for 5 books. Book One coming Fall 2016.

Five Kingdoms

(ages 8â€"12)

  • Five Kingdoms: Sky Raiders, Aladdin, 11 March 2014, ISBN 978-1-4424-9700-9
  • Five Kingdoms: Rogue Knight, Aladdin, 18 November 2014, ISBN 978-1-4424-9703-0
  • Five Kingdoms: Crystal Keepers, Aladdin, 17 March 2015, ISBN 978-1-4424-9706-1
  • Five Kingdoms: Book Four, Aladdin, 1 March 2016
  • Five Kingdoms: Book Five, Aladdin, 1 March 2017

Candy Shop War

(ages 8â€"13)

  • The Candy Shop War, Shadow Mountain, 11 September 2007, ISBN 978-1-59038-783-2
  • Arcade Catastrophe, Shadow Mountain, 23 October 2012, ISBN 978-1-60907-179-0


  • Pingo, illustrated by Brandon Dorman, Shadow Mountain, 5 August 2009, ISBN 978-1-60641-109-4, for ages 4â€"8
  • Pingo and the Playground Bully â€" Prequel to Pingo, illustrated by Brandon Dorman, Shadow Mountain, 9 October 2012, ISBN 978-1-60907-178-3

Spirit Animals

  • Mull has written two of the seven books in the series: Wild Born (Book 1) and the upcoming story Special Edition: Tales of the Great Beasts (21 October 2014). Wild Born tells the story of four 11-year-old kids (Conor from Eura, Meilin from Zhong, Rollan from Amaya, and Abeke from Nilo) who summon the legendary Four Fallen (Briggan with Connor, Jhi with Meilin, Essix with Rollan, and Uraza with Abeke). The kids must work together to find the first talisman with the Greencloaks, leading to a heroic battle against the Ravens and the Conquerors. The Special Edition covers the story of the four great beasts: Briggan the Wolf, Uraza the Leopard, Jhi the Panda, and Essix the Falcon before they sacrifice themselves to protect the land and become the legendary Four Fallen Spirit Animals.


BYU Bookstore - Spirit Animals: Wild Born, Vol. 1 (Hard Cover Book ...

External links

  • Official website
  • Blog
  • Fablehaven series (official)
  • Candy Shop War Vol. 2: The Arcade Catasrophe (official)
  • Interview by Glenn Beck (2008), CNN Headline News (YouTube)
  • Interview by the Dr. Pat Show, Seattle-based talk
  • Brandon Mull at the Internet Speculative Fiction Database
  • Brandon Mull at Library of Congress Authorities, with 17 catalog records

BYU Bookstore - Spirit Animals: Tales of the Great Beasts (Hard ...
Sponsored Links